Nursery DIY

Last weekend I showed you the first stage of the dresser refinish and the nursery paint.

Since then I put another coat of stain on the dresser, and I think I’m done! I love the color of it and I don’t want to lose the beautiful wood grain under the stain. I’m going to do the first coat of polyurethane on it tomorrow.

The next thing we worked on was the rocking chair.

I found this rocking chair at a garage sale a few months ago for $20. It’s a Cracker Barrel rocking chair, so not only is it comfy but it’s well built. It was raw wood so I decided to stain it to match the dresser.

Image

Image

First, I hand sanded it and did a little bit of touching up. One of the rockers on the bottom was loose so we popped both sides off, threw some wood glue in the holes and popped them back on.

Leon helped me with this project. It was fun to work together and he helped me hold it still while I applied the stain. I was working on this on Sunday after having spent all day Saturday and part of Sunday sanding and staining the dresser, so I was really exhausted and had to take more breaks than normal. He stepped in while I took a break so we totally tag-teamed it.

Image

Image

Image

Image

I think it needs another coat of stain on the back slats but other than that I love the color!

This weekend, I’ll apply the last coat of stain and then start on the polyurethane.

We also got a rug for the nursery. Both cats have been busy marking it.

001

During the week, I found a changing table on this Facebook/Craigslist site. It is solid wood, pretty old, with 3 drawers. It is in awesome shape, but is just a weird red color. I bought it for $40 and this weekend, Leon is going to sand it down and stain it.

 

009

Yes… I said Leon. He has put his foot down on my heavy lifting and operating power tools. Apparently operating a power sander is not normal in your 3rd trimester. Psh. I did fine with the dresser. But he wants to help, so who am I to argue?

I can’t wait to see it all put together. I’m going to get replacement knobs for the dresser and the changing table so it will look like they are a part of a set. I’m so excited!

Wednesday after work, I got out my sewing machine and made a changing pad cover. It was pretty easy! I used this tutorial from Pretty Prudent.

029

030

Here it is on the changing table. Ignore the red color of the changing table. It will soon match the dresser and the rocker.

031

I love the cover. I think it’s so pretty!!

The other thing I made on Wednesday was a diaper stacker. I couldn’t find any good tutorials for a diaper stacker so I just looked at some pictures of diaper stackers on the internet and winged it. It’s NOT perfect… but it worked and I think it looks great.

I needed a sturdy bottom, so I hunted around my house and found an old 3-ring binder from college.

032

I cut off one side, and used it for my base. It worked great! I think a piece of cardboard would have been too flimsy, so I really think this was perfect.

033

I created a pocket for it to slide in, and then created the diaper stacker around the base. I found a pants hanger in my closet, slide it in the top of the diaper stacker, and wrapped the metal hook with white ribbon and tied a bow. Here is the end result.

 

 034

035

I’m SO proud. I cannot believe I created this without a pattern or tutorial! I’m really starting to enjoy sewing. My things are not precise or perfect enough to sell, but for my own use, I’m doing pretty darn well!

Since I’m on such a roll with sewing my nursery stuff and preparing furniture, I thought it was time to start thinking about the little details, like wall art and décor.

I found this on Pinterest and I LOVE it. I am thinking about printing something like it, framing it and hanging in the nursery.

026

I also want my dad to make a vinyl wall decal for me that says, “Let her sleep, for when she wakes she will move mountains.” or “Though she be but little, she is fierce. – William Shakespeare”.

And I also want to print / make something to frame with my favorite children’s book quote of all time:

“I love you forever, I’ll like you for always. As long as I’m living my baby you’ll be.”

I know.. that’s a lot of quotes and things but I really love them all and can’t possibly chose only one.

I have so many ideas.

I cannot wait to get to work this weekend and update you all on the progress!

Love and hugs,

Momma & Harper

Leave a Reply

