Dresser Re-finish

My parents generously gave us a dresser for the nursery. Bonus: It is the dresser I used as a baby.

The dresser is a gorgeous antique that we determined was made sometime between 1920 – 1958.

Image

It had some scratches on it and didn’t match the crib I want… so I decided to refinish it. I started on it this weekend and made great progress.

Before I went to work on it, the dresser looked like this:

Image

Here are the drawers:

Image

I used Leon’s belt sander to sand it down. Of course… I wore the mask. Can I just say… I had NO CLUE how powerful belt sanders are! It literally almost pulled me off my feet. This part took a long time. I had to take a few breaks… Also, I had to use sand paper to hand- sand parts that were hard or impossible to reach with the belt sander. This is what it looked like after I sanded it.

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Then I removed the drawer pulls from the drawers and sanded the drawers.

Image

The belt sander made quick work of these.

I chose stain in Espresso; I always use MiniWax brand.

I applied my first coat of stain. You have to let it sit at least 5 hours or so between coats so I will go back out there tomorrow to add another coat. I’m thinking I’ll need at least 3 coats to get the richness I want. But here it is after one coat.

Image

Image

I am very happy with how this is turning out. I’ll be honest though…. I didn’t realize how must hard work and manual labor this would be. This was my first time playing with the belt sander and it was much harder than I thought it would be. It was hot outside, it was hard to breathe with the mask and the goggles on… and using the sander required a fair amount of muscle and exertion. Hindsight is 20/20 but knowing what I know now.. I should have done this project in my 2nd trimester.

The hard part is done though and the rest is easy. 🙂

I want to replace the knobs on the drawers. I have a few ideas but I haven’t committed to anything yet. Here are some options I saw at Hobby Lobby. (I normally boycott Hobby Lobby since they tend to ignore blatantly disregard lgbt and women’s rights… but they have a killer selection of knobs!)

Clear Glass Knob Cut Oval

Silver Mirror Beaded Knob

Brass Metal Knob with Clear Stones

Clear Glass Rose Knob

White Flower Ceramic Knob

 

Thoughts?

I’ll post finished photos of the dresser soon! Until then… I’m off to continue nesting!!!

 

xoxo

Sarah and Mordred

4 thoughts on “Dresser Re-finish

  1. Lisa Cousins says:

    You’ve been busy! Everything looks great! By the way, your grandmother was born in Bloomington, Indiana in 1925. So, it’s possible Grandma O. and this dresser were “made” about the same time, a few blocks from each other. LOL.

  2. Lisa says:

    Can’t wait to see it all done and put in the room. Everything is looking so wonderful…..she is one lucky little girl! 💗🎵

  3. Chris Mihalka says:

    Great job Sarah! Everything looks so good! I know all about how hard it is to refinish furniture as I did my end tables upstairs. But it I loved watching it all transform into something beautiful! I love how you have also turned into quit the seamstress! Good for you! Mordred will love all the hard work you did just for her!

Leave a Reply

