Bountiful Baskets!!

In my last post I mentioned that I was up super early on a Saturday. It was WELL worth it though… let me tell you why.

My dear friend Malia introduced me to Bountiful Baskets.

Bountiful Baskets is a food co-op. You can go online and pay $15 to participate. There are no contracts, no obligation to participate for any duration. You sign up each week you want to participate. You pay $15 (or $25 for organic if you so desire) and you show up at a designated location early Saturday morning to pick up your stash.

You get approximately 50% fruits and 50% vegetables. They ask that you volunteer every so often since everything is volunteer ran. If you can, you show up an hour early and prepare the baskets.

I went online Monday and paid for my basket. My total was $20 since it was my first time (they have a one time- first timers fee to purchase supplies plus a processing fee).

This morning I woke up and left the house at 6:45am. Needless to say Leon is still sleeping. 😉

The location I chose is about 2.5 miles away. There are 4 locations in Gilbert and a few in Chandler. (Sorry California peeps – since you all have crazy laws on produce you miss out! Illinois family- not sure if they have this out there… but if they don’t you can always sign up to run a site!)

I arrived at the site about 10 minutes before 7am. The pickup time is 7am – you must arrive by 7:20am or your food is donated to a local fire station. I showed them my confirmation on my phone, and they showed me my baskets. I had one for fruits and one for veggies. I loaded everything into my big laundry basket. They asked that I take a few things of cardboard to throw in my recycle bin. I gladly obliged.

This is what my laundry basket looked like:

Image

I am so impressed with the quantity and quality of what I received.

Here is (best I can tell) what I received:

8 Bananas

3lb bag of small apples

3 grapefruits (some hybrid kind?)

3 bunches of green onions (chives)

2 bags of red grapes

1 head of cauliflower

2 bunches of broccoli

3 rainbow carrots

1 bushel of celery

7 chilies

1 head romaine lettuce

Here is another shot:

Image

No way can I eat all of this so I’m sharing with my mom.

I’m VERY pleased with my experience. I would never buy some of these things at the store (chilis… rainbow carrots..) but I get to try new things and find exciting recipes that will feature some or most of these items.

I’m thinking of making enchiladas with some kind of chili sauce.

Steam the broccoli, carrots and cauliflower,

make a salad..

and I’ll eat the celery as is with a little peanut butter. YUM.

I highly suggest you give it a try at least once. It’s exciting to see what you’re going to get. 🙂

Let me know if you have any questions… I’ll do my best to answer them.

xoxo

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

