Kitchen Upgrades!

The first upgrade we made to the kitchen since my last post was a new stove. There was an … incident. 

One burner stopped working in the middle of making a roux for Mac N Cheese… Fast forward a few weeks to me cooking dinner. I had been complaining about the stove making weird electrical popping noises but Leon didn’t believe me. I had two things on the burner and and one in the oven when It Happened. 

The stove emitted a LOUD electrical popping noise and completely shut off. Mind you, I have an irrational fear of house fire… so I panicked. There was a lot of “I TOLD YOU SOMETHING WAS WRONG!” and “OKAY OKAY I BELIEVE YOU!” being tossed around. We determined that the breaker was tripped… Leon tried to plug the stove back in and it sparked something nasty. I cried. I begged and pleaded for him to never ever plug another stove in ever again! I promised to cook every meal for the rest of my life outside on the grill. 

I know… I’m a bit dramatic. 

But check out the back of our stove! 

ImageImageImage

 

You would cry to, if it happened to you! (A little bit of Leslie Gore for you – Now it’s stuck in your head. You’re welcome.)

So we were on the hunt for a decent priced stove. I had my fair share of demands… Under $600, black or stainless, flat top, self cleaning…. We went without a stove for a few weeks… bummed dinner off my parents. 

We were on a random Home Depot trip, looking for some plumbing thing-a-ma-jig … when I saw it. The lights shown down from above, angels sang and heavenly music rang through the air. They had just pulled a floor model off display and were selling it at over 50% off. It was everything I wanted… normally sold for $1200, but on clearance for $559 because it was a floor model. Uhm… Yes please! 

Meet my new stove: 

Image

 

Yeah… she’s pretty! I’m thrilled. 

Moral of the story: They  have their discounted floor models in the back by plumbing!! 😀 

Our next exciting upgrade was planned. Remember by counter tops? Well I loved the look but they didn’t hold up as well as I had hoped. It was a little chip… Leon admitted to dropping something on it… and I could have fixed it without much effort. But we were finally able to afford granite. 

Here are a few pictures of the “demolition”: 

ImageImageImageImage

And the finished product: 

ImageImageImageImage

I love it!! I still have to install the back splash but that has to wait for a few weeks. I can’t decide what I want there anymore. The one I bought doesn’t look good with the granite so I have to take it back. 

Soooo… Whatcha think? 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

