Cabinets and Floors!

We are so tired. 

Completely exhausted. 

So is my mom and dad.

And Aunt Lisa. 

 

Leon and I had no idea how hard this would be. Don’t get me wrong, we are having a blast! But, we are ready to move in! 

 

Friday, Leon and I went to the new house. He worked on the last of the toilet leak issue: 

 

 

 

 

 

Image

 

I’m so proud of him. He’s really diving into all this handyman- repair- work. 🙂 

 

 

While he did that I painted the frames on my cabinets: 

Image

 

 

I finished my 2nd coat of the base color on everything except the front of the doors. Hopefully this weekend I can finish the cabinets. 

Note: The first set of before/after shots. See that the upper cabinets were on the wall in the “before” and on the counter on the “after”? There is a story behind that… keep reading! 

Before: 

 

Image

 

After: 

Image

Before: 

 

Image

 

After 

 

Image

 

I LOVE LOVE LOVE them!! I’m soooo happy! Once I do the glaze and top coat I really think they will look amazing. 

So, the upper cabinet was coming away from the wall, as if it wasn’t secured to the wall very well. Leon and I tried to take it down so we could install wall mounts or locate a stud. He unscrewed all the visible screws and then tried to pull the cabinet down. It wouldn’t budge. So, we left it there, thinking there must be a screw or two that we didn’t see holding it up. About 30 minutes later, I was painting cabinets about 3 feets away, and Leon was scraping up laminate flooring and the whole thing fell down… it was one of the loudest noises I think I’ve EVER heard! Scared the living crap out of me! Turns out the only thing holding it up was some paint! All is well and Leon and my dad re-installed it. 

 

 

The floors were delivered Saturday! All 126 boxes…. 

 

Image

 

 

The sad part is, I don’t think it will be enough! 

 

We started in the master bedroom: 

Image

 

 

We had to lay a moisture barrier because we are installing the floors over a concrete sub floor. The black things against the wall are the spacers which are ensuring we maintain the required expansion gap. That is important because as the weather changes the floor can expand and contract. If there is no gap, the floor could buckle and that would be bad! 

Image

 

 

Image

 

This is about as far as we made it in the Master bedroom. There were a lot of complicated cuts that took a long time. Leon and my dad did our cuts for us:

 

Image

And Leon brought us boxes as needed:

 

Image

Mom was our runner…

Image

 

Aunt Lisa tackled another bedroom and she did amazing!

 

Image

 

Image

Image

 

And she’s done!

 

Image

 

Whatcha think? 

 

I LOVE the floors! 

 

🙂 We are SO lucky to have such supportive, loving family!! 

 

Remember that huge dumpster we rented? I bet you were thinking “they’ll never fill that thing!” 

Image

Well… “Before” 

Image

 

and… “after” 

Image

 

 

Yea.. Insane. I know. 

 

I’ll be honest… I had typed out a nice long, funny blog but my computer flipped out and I lost it all.. so this was my second attempt. Sorry for the lack of details.. but I’m going to  bed! 🙂 

 

One last thing before I sign off… 

Image

 

 

🙂 Thanks for reading!! 

6 thoughts on “Cabinets and Floors!

  1. Sandy says:

    It look GREAT!!! I can not wait until you guys get moved in……

  2. Noel Perdue says:

    You guys are doing an amazing job I wish we lived closer so we could be there to he help out more we are just a phone call away if something comes up I do need to plan another weekend so we can do the watering system with Leon Love You guys, Pops

  3. Looks great so far! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

